Experimentation

Over the last few months, this project has given me a variety of ideas towards my final image. As I’ve researched many artists and searched through a mixture of journals and books, I came to a conclusion of what my main focus would be.

Looking at people and an object of theirs which represents them was one of a few ideas that came to mind. However, as I did my research on a number of artists, I decided to focus my work around people and their careers. By succeeding this, I would have to photograph strangers outside of their work place.

This idea can be used in different ways. For example, I could have strangers in their uniforms and pose in a studio. However, I personally felt it would look better for people to be in their own work environments as well being in their own uniform. This way, I find it more interesting to look at.

John Londei was the main artist that I have been looking at when it comes to photographing people and their careers. Although he is one of the only photographers that I have come across that have looked at this type of photography, I recently come across more artists such as, Mihaela Noroc who has traveled the world, looking at natural feminine beauty and women identities

Over the past couple of weeks, I have done a number of photo shoots of people in the work places. Although one shoots was not a success, the rest were. Below is an example of what I have been doing.

11091377_10153200302022082_674607740_n

Other places that I have visited include two cafes, a pet shop and a vintage clothes shop.

Over the final few weeks, I hope to do a couple of shoots based around this idea and build it up. I will also be looking for another artist or two who have looked at people and the environement that they live/ work in.

Experimentation

Leave a comment